Committee for Child Abuse Prevention

In 2019, Dee Norton provided comprehensive services for 106 children and families residing on Johns, Wadmalaw, Kiawah and Seabrook Island - 106 children and families who had a concern about child abuse. These services included: forensic interviews for 49 children to establish a record of what happened, medical exams for 33 children to address any health issues, mental health assessments with 15 children and their caregivers, multidisciplinary team case staffing for 46 children bringing all the agencies together to determine next steps, and 101 treatment sessions for 15 children to help children heal. In addition, Dee Norton staff completed 995 contacts for case management on behalf of 106 children. They have completed an expansion project and are now operating and serving families out of their downtown and East Cooper locations. The grant from the Exchange Club of Kiawah-Seabrook allows them to continue achieving their mission of preventing abuse, protecting children, and healing families at no cost to their families.


Committee Chair       Charles Septer

Members; Robert Mason; John Reock; Thad Peterson; Charlie Septer; Ed Rigtrup; Dick Fleming; Kevin Boyle; Ray Hoover